Officers throughout the state, including those from the Belen Police Department remind New Mexicans that drinking and driving, and not wearing your seatbelt, isn’t worth your wallet, or your life.
“DWI penalties are stiff and stay on your record for a long time,” said Lt. Mike Chavez from the Belen Police Department. “Insurance rates for those convicted of DWI skyrocket, not to mention that you could potentially kill yourself or someone else.”
Fines for DWI penalties range from $500 to $5,000; those convicted also face lost income due to missed work while serving jail time or performing community service.
The New Mexico seatbelt law mandates that everyone in a vehicle must wear seatbelts.
and drivers will receive a $25 penalty for each unbuckled adult of child in the vehicle. Wearing a seatbelt and requiring passengers to do the same is also the best defense against injury or death if you get in a crash.
“So remember, get a designated driver, buckle up and buckle up your children, or we’ll stop you,” Chavez said.
The Belen Police Department works in partnership with the Traffic Safety Bureau, a division of the New Mexico State Highway and Transportation Department, to enforce the state’s driving laws and encourage New Mexicans to drive safely.
The Valencia County News-Bulletin is a locally owned and operated community newspaper, dedicated to serving Valencia County since 1910 through the highest journalistic and professional business standards. The VCNB is published weekly on Thursdays, including holidays both in print and online.